Everything in Berlin turned out just “Peachy”!

Everything is Peachy!

Everything is Peachy!

As some of you might know, Berlin Maryland was home to one of the largest Peach Orchards in the country back in the day. No surprise then that the Taylor House Museum’s annual Peach Festival is the largest festival hosted by the “Coolest Small Town in America”.

Most of you know that “BAKED” is home of the Original Peach Dumpling, which happens to be the “Official Dessert of Berlin”. Again no surprise then that we would be selling peach dumplings both in the store and at the festival and that this weekend is our busiest of the entire year. Every year we increase the amount of dumplings we make and every year we sell out, each one made by hand.

What you might not know is that during the frenzy of preparation for this weekend, our dog Beatrice went into labor, had to have an emergency C-section and gave birth to a litter of 5 French Bulldogs. Suffice it to say, that without the assistance of our family and friends, Nina and I would have been in some very “deep water”.

I have to first give props to my partner and who I will now refer to as the “Peach Dumpling Princess”. Nina is a machine and hand crafted dumpling at a speed which could have set some sort of Olympic Record if Peach Dumpling making was a sport. My son Vince and my daughter Sophia were at home and assisted with the birth of the first two puppies and they remained at home on 24 hour puppy duty throughout the weekend. My husband, AKA “Cupcake” was both on duty when at home, helped us set up for the festival and then worked in the store all day despite an hour of sleep. I cannot image my life without you four and I am eternally grateful for your love and support. I love you all MOST.

Then there are my parents, both in there 80’s helping out anyway they could, my sister Pam who did more dishes yesterday than she probably has in a year, my niece Britty, who was on her feet all day serving at the festival along side of Nina and my friend Melinda and her son Kevin who learned the art of Peach Dumpling making in short order! We are so grateful for you and everything you did to make this weekend a success. We love you all!

Lastly, I have to thank the volunteers and organizer at the Taylor House Museum. You all throw quite the party. Thank you for inviting us and hosting the most amazing festival! Lastly, to the Berlin Chamber of Commerce and Main Street Berlin for making the “Coolest Small Town in America” the coolest place to do business!

I am totally blessed to report that everything in Berlin

Everything is Peachy!

Everything is Peachy!

turned out just “Peachy”!

One thought on “Everything in Berlin turned out just “Peachy”!

Leave a comment