Shouldn’t everyday be Mother’s Day?

Shouldn't everyday be Mother's Day?

Shouldn’t everyday be Mother’s Day?

If you have ever met my mother in our little bakery, it’s unlikely that you would forget her. She’s short in stature, but she is as feisty as they come. If you encounter her at “BAKED”, which she frequents most everyday, expect that you’ll be strong armed into making a purchase, even if you’re diabetic. That has happened on more than one occasion.

I am one of 6 daughters, so my sisters and I calculated that our mother endured approximately 30 years of puberty, the birth place of her true craziness. Honestly, I know those years were tough on both of my parents, but particularly on my mother. I am happy to report that she survived the drama without addiction to alcohol and/or drug dependency…that we know of.

When I was pregnant with my first child, she lectured me on the worries and struggles that motherhood would bring. She rejoiced when after my son, I gave birth to 2 more children, both daughters. I think thoughts of revenge were behind her elation. When my children were teenagers, she again lectured me about the trials and tribulations those awkward years would bring and warned me that the worry and struggle of motherhood doesn’t end once your children are adults. She told me the burden of motherhood actually intensifies when your children venture off on their own, marry and have children themselves.

Blessed with 3 grown children, it is only after becoming a mother myself that I truly began to appreciate my own mother. She is one of a kind! I understand that their is nothing greater than a Mother’s Love and that Mother’s Day is 24/7 kind of deal.

Last night we celebrated her 80th Birthday with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

